Heathrow Airport Terminals


currently operates 5 terminals. Terminal 1 and 2 will be demolished along with the Queen's building to make way for Heathrow East Terminal

Terminal 1

Opened by the Queen in 1969. This doubled the the seating and retail space. Primarily Terminal 1 serves the domestic market and Irish routes along with a few European and long haul routes.

Terminal 2

Originally calle the Europa building and currently the oldest terminal being completed as far back as 1955. This will be replaced by the East Terminal in 2010.

Terminal 3

Opened in 1961 as the Oceanic terminal to handle all long haul. The terminal was renamed terminal 3 in 1968 and redeveloped to include a new arrivals building. Recent developments cost 106 million in 1906 to build piers to accomodate the new Airbus A380 used by Singapore Airlines and Emirates. Terminal 3 and 4 are both to receive a £1bn upgrade over the next 10 years.

Terminal 4

is connected to terminals 1, 2, and 3 by the Heathrow cargo tunnel. Until the opening of Terminal 5 this was the base for British Airways. This terminal accomadates the Skyteam alliance and 45 other airlines.

Terminal 5

is situated between the North and South runways  and was opened by the Queen on 14th March 2009.  Built at a cost of £4.3 bn the terminal is split between the main concourse A and linked to two satellite concourses B and C. C will be completed in 2010. The terminal will handle over 30 million passengers and facilities extend to over a 100 shops and restuarants.

A dedicated spur from the M25 between 14 and 15 junctions has been built to take traffic direct to the terminal and a 3800 mutiple car park

Unfortunately, everything which could go wrong did, with luggage going astray, technology breaking down and scores of flights cancelled.

top of footer
Flypark accepts the following credit/debit cards:

Airport car parking | Site map | Contact Flypark | Holiday ideas & articles | Privacy | Terms and conditions | Hotel airport parking | Airport Hotels with Parking

Footer bottom